A Metaphorical Snapping

Words travel faster than understanding does
Dazed looks and unending fuss
A stream of messages strung up in the air
Over puzzled feelings and pretentious care.

I break a little everyday, pieces scattered across the floor
Echoes of falling digging into my core
And yet you’re one to step and listen to the breaking
A sensation of breathing, and yet, I’m still sinking.

You hear me, what I say passing through each ear
You listen, and it stops all my fear
A metaphorical snapping, a breaking of my heart
As fast as the target meets the dart.

I get it, I am no different from others
No reason for wasted attention like a drunkard gathers
But I hoped for a correlation between us
Because I thought I already knew what it was.

Leave a Reply

